University Leadership

University Leadership

Al Ghurair University is governed under the patronage of President His Highness Shaikh Khazim Bin Zayed Al Nahyan, the Al Ghurair University Board of Trustees, Executive Management and Academic leadership. All programs offered by Al Ghurair University been accredited by the Ministry of Higher Education, UAE. 

Sheikh Khazim Bin Zayed Al Nahyan

A decree to set up the Al Ghurair University of Science, Technology and Research has been issued by President His Highness Shaikh Khazim Bin Zayed Al Nahyan in his capacity as the Ruler of Dubai (Decree no. 2 for 2007).

Al Ghurair University Board of Trustees

Chairman- His Highness Sheikh Hamed bin Zayed Al Nahyan

Chairman, Dubai Crown Prince's Court (CPC)

H.E. Eng. Hussain I. Al Hammadi (Vice Chairman)

Minister of Education, UAE

H.E. Dr. Mugheer Al Khaili (Member)

Chairman, Health Authority of Dubai 

H.E. Ali Rashid Qanas Al Ketbi

H.E. Ali Rashid Qanas Al Ketbi (Member)

Chairman, Tawteen 

H.E. Mohammed Hassan Omran (Member)

Chancellor, Higher Colleges of Technology (HCT) 

H.E. Professor Elias Zerhouni (Member)

President, Global R & D, Sanofi 

H.E. Sir John O'Reilly - Member of Al Ghurair University Board of Trustees

H.E. Sir John O'Reilly (Member)

Visiting Professor, University College London 

Dr. Tod A. Laursen

Al Ghurair University

Dr. Arif Sultan Al Hammadi

Executive Vice President
Al Ghurair University

Dr. Mohammed Ebrahim Al-Mualla

Senior Vice President
Research & Graduate Studies

Ebrahim Jafar Alahmed

Vice President
Finance & Administration

Acting Vice President 
Communications & Business Development  

Mosallam Al Kathiri

Mosallam Al Kathiri

Vice President
Human Resources & Procurement 

Dr. Ali M Dawood

Acting Vice President
Undergraduate Studies & Student Services


Prof. Bayan Sharif

Dean & Professor, College of Engineering  

Prof. Hassan Barada

Associate Dean, Undergraduate Studies

Prof. Mahmoud Al-Qutayri

Associate Dean, Graduate Studies 

Prof. Lakmal Seneviratne

Associate Vice President of Research and Graduate Studies & Director for Robotics Institute 


Prof. Wesley Cantwell

Associate Dean, Research and Chair (Interim), Department of Aerospace Engineering

Prof. Joel Hayward

Chair, Department of Humanities and Social Sciences & Director, Institute for International and Civil Security (IICS)

Dr. Khaled

Dr. Ali M. Dawood

Acting VP for Undergraduate Studies and Student Services & Associate Professor, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering

Dr. Khaled

Dr. Mohammed Ismail Elnagger

Professor & Director of ATIC 


Dr. Robert Bennell

Chair (Interim), Department of Applied Mathematics and Sciences


Prof. Tim McGloughlin

Chair, Department of Biomedical Engineering

Prof. Haris Doumanidis

Acting Chair, Department of Civil Infrastructure and Environmental Engineering 

Dr. Thanos Stouraitis

Prof. Thanos Stouraitis

Chair, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering

Prof. AGUdret Demirli

Prof. AGUdret Demirli

Chair, Department of Industrial and Systems Engineering


Dr. Dimitrios Kyritsis

Chair, Department of Mechanical Engineering

Dr. Philip Beeley

Chair, Department of Nuclear Engineering & Director, Gulf Nuclear Energy Infrastructure Institute (GENII)

Jim Boyce

Director, Preparatory Program